The second part of the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology Licensing Exam focuses on statutes and rules. The first half of the exam is about Chapter 155A and the second half of the exam is about Chapter 2105. Part 3 of the blog series will tackle Chapter 2105 statutes and rules as compiled by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology.
Cosmetology State Examination
This exam consists of 35 questions. You have 1 hour to complete this section. The Cosmetology State Examination focuses on general information about the Minnesota statutes, licensing, practice requirements, and enforcement.
The Chapter 155A statutes focus on definitions, board purpose and responsibilities and cosmetologist licensing. This section also focuses on license cycle, retired license, manager and instructor license requirements. This section also contains information on continuing education requirements, types of salons and services offered and not offered in salons. This chapter also talks about the statutes for enforcement, violations and penalties, inspections and proper license displays in salons.
Important Definitions to Remember
Manager – Someone that has a manager license and provides services under that license. This person manages cosmetologists, estheticians and nail technicians.
Salon – Rooms or areas within a commercial setting that offer cosmetology services. This does not include a client’s home.
Mobile Salon – Salon that is operated in a mobile vehicle or structure used exclusively for personal cosmetology services.
School – A location operated by a person that maintains a class to teach cosmetology to the public for compensation. This does not include community education under 10 hours that is intended for the self-improvement of participants.
Instructor – Person employed by a school to teach theoretical and practical cosmetology to future cosmetologists. The instructor must maintain an active operator or manager’s license.
Threading – A method of removing hair from the eyebrows, upper lip and other body parts using thread to pull hair from the follicles.
Statute 155A.20 Board Members
The Board of Cosmetology Examiners consists of seven members. All board positions are appointed by the governor. The board includes two cosmetologists, one private cosmetology school instructor, one public cosmetology school instructor, one esthetician, one nail technician, and one public member. All members must have an active license and have practiced cosmetology in the last five years.
Statute 155A.21 Protection of Health
This statute protects the health of the clients and cosmetologists from infection. This statute covers the use of chemicals, implements, apparatus, and other application of cosmetology that requires special education.
Statute 155A.23 Definitions
This statute defines terms including cosmetology, cosmetologist, esthetician and nail technician.
Cosmetology – The practice of personal services for the cosmetic care of the hair, nails and skin. Services include cleaning, conditioning, shaping, reinforcing and coloring. This practice also includes enhancing the head, scalp, face, arms, hands, legs, feet and trunk of the body.
Cosmetologist – Person who performs personal services listed above.
Esthetician – Person who performs personal services for the cosmetic care of the skin only.
Nail Technician – Person who performs personal services for the cosmetic care of the hands, feet and nails only.
Statute 155A.24 Board Authority
The board of cosmetology has the authority to hire personnel to assist in administrating the law, test and license applicants. The board may also conduct inspections and follow up on complaints.
Statue 155A.25 Cosmetology Fees & License Expiration Date
A three-year license fee is $195 for a practitioner, manager or instructor license. $115 is the cost of renewal of practitioner license, $145 for renewal of manager or instructor’s license. $350 for the initial salon license and $225 for each renewal of salon license. An initial school license is $4,000 and $2,500 for a renewal.
Penalties are assessed as $150 reinspection fee. There are also fees for expired licenses and failure to display current license. Salons may be penalized for failing to dispose of single-use equipment, implements or materials, and use of razors.
There are fees for an owner and manager allowing an operator to work as an independent contractor. In addition to this, there are fees for refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection.
Administrative fees include homebound service permit, name change and certification of licensure. Additional fees include those for duplicate licenses, special permits, temporary military licenses, and expedited licenses. There is also an additional fee for hair braider reigstration.
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month of the year due. Salon and school licenses expire on the last day of the month of initial licensure.
Statute 155A.27 Practitioner Definitions
The practitioner definition statute defines terms including licensing, qualification, testing, duration of the license, and renewal.
Licensing – A person must hold an individual license to practice as a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, manager or instructor in the state.
Qualification – Qualification for licensing in each classification is set by the board and established by rule.
Testing – Testing must be done by a board approved provider.
Duration of the License – License is valid for three years.
Renewals – Renewals are valid for three years.
Statute 155A.275 Special Event Services
Special event services are services performed at a location other than the licensed salon for compensation. Special events may include styling, setting, reinforcing, or extending the hair. Applying makeup or nail polish is also covered by this statute. A special event permit is needed from the board. The person applying for a special event permit must have a valid manager’s license.
Statute 155A.29 Salon Compliance
For a salon to obtain a license, they must comply with all local and state laws. Laws include infection control, health and safety. The salon must have a licensed manager. The salon must also comply with workers’ compensation. Salons must have evidence of continued professional liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for each claim. The salon must also have $50,000 total coverage. A mobile salon must maintain a business address and notify the board of the location and schedule of the mobile salon.
The salon must adhere to minimum infection control standards. Salons may be inspected as often as the board considers necessary. A salon will not be allowed to operate in a room within a residential dwelling.
Statute 155A.31 Inspections
The board is responsible for inspecting salons and schools practicing or teaching cosmetology. If inspection shows a licensee fails to meet minimum standards, the board must present the risk to the public.
Statute 155A.32 Display of License
Every licensee must display the license in a visible place within the business.
Statute 155A.355 Prohibited Uses
This statute defines items of prohibited use including single-use equipment, skin-cutting equipment and banned substances.
Single-Use Equipment and Materials – Materials made of paper, wood or porous materials must be disposed after a single service. Failure to dispose of the single-use materials is subject to penalty.
Skin-Cutting Equipment – Use of razors and other skin cutting equipment used to cut or grate skin is prohibited.
Substances – The use of methyl methacrylate liquid monomers (MMA) and fumigants are prohibited.
Statute 155A.33 Enforcement
If the committee believes an individual has violated statutes or rules, they may be subject to legal action and/or cease and desist order.
Statute 155A.36 Violations & Penalties
Persons found in violation of the previous provisions are guilty of a misdemeanor.
Starting to prepare for the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology Licensing Exam? Need to get your undergraduate certificate in cosmetology first? At Minnesota School of Cosmetology, we are dedicated to helping our Cosmetology program students develop a solid foundation for style through hands-on training in basic and advanced industry techniques. You will learn how to cut, color and style hair, give manicures and pedicures, provide spa treatments and perform skin care techniques from industry-experienced instructors in a professional salon setting. We keep our class sizes small to make sure you get the individualized instruction you need and attention you deserve. Upon completion, will graduate with everything you need to be a versatile artist in an exciting industry.
Contact us today to learn more about becoming a hairstylist and starting a rewarding career in the beauty industry.